Forums  ›  General  ›  General Discussion

Anatomy/Physiology trivia

As some of you here may know I am a licensed massage therapist.  I am also a teachers assistant at the school that I attended.  One of my favorite classes to assist with is Anatomy/Physiology/Biomechanics.  After reading the favorite body parts forum I thought a little trivia might be fun.  Now I do know this might be a little difficult as you will get different answers depending on the source you use to find the answer.  I will try to keep the questions somewhat easy at first with the most common answers you may find.  My massage practice is run from my home so I can log on often to update answers.  Here goes and have fun :)

Your skin or (Integument) is made up of three layers.  The deepest layer is called Hypodermis, the middle layer is called Dermis, What is the name of the outer most layer?

Hint: It is mentioned in a Simpsons episode

Times up!  The correct answer is Epidermis.  The Simpsons Episode that its mentioned in is Season 6 episode 1 where Bart and Lisa get a pool.  All the kids are trying to convince Bart to jump from his treehouse into the pool.  Nelson says "Hey Bart your Epidermis is showing"  :)

Next question.  How bout a bone question.  The arm or superior limb has only one solid bone on bone connection to the torso.  What are the names of the 2 bones?

Please note a joint is not a bone on bone connection point.  The bones in a joint are held together by ligaments.

Hint:  one of the bones is known to be one of the most painful bones to break.    

Humerus connects to scapula to form your shoulder joint

Times up!  The correct answer is Epidermis.  The Simpsons Episode that its mentioned in is Season 6 episode 1 where Bart and Lisa get a pool.  All the kids are trying to convince Bart to jump from his treehouse into the pool.  Nelson says "Hey Bart your Epidermis is showing"  :)

You can usually use the Simpsons as an example or reference to just about anything :)